Mike S. Private Tutor in Los Angeles 90012

Mike S.

My tutoring hourly rate is $$65.00/Hour

I can tutor within 20 Miles

State : CA

City : Los Angeles

ZipCode : 90012

Math, Programming, Music and Life Coaching

I’ve helped many students through the entirety of the calculus curriculum: everything from reviewing pre-calculus concepts to multi-variate integration and differentiation. I have a solid understanding of the material, and personally I’ve successfully completed many calculus courses over the years, including AP Calculus AB and BC, as well as the range of calculus classes that the Cornell University College of Engineering (my alma mater) offers.

Java was the focus for much of my Computer Science education at Cornell University. I’ve also used the language heavily in my professional work in the industry. As a tutor, I’ve helped many students through their Java work in AP Computer Science and similar college classes. At Cornell, I was a teaching assistant for CS211 — a Java-based programming class.

I have been playing guitar for 18 years. I was instructed formally for one year, and have been self-taught for the remaining 17 years. I currently write and perform music regularly in/around Baltimore. I specialize in electric blues music, though I have experience in many genres (classical, jazz, rock). I have a solid understanding of theoretical fundamentals, various playing techniques, and I’m very familiar with contemporary music, which I leverage for students interested in learning contemporary songs.

I’ve been a freelance web designer on and off for about 10 years. I know Adobe CS (in particular Photoshop) like the back of my hand, and I’m extremely fluent in HTML, CSS, and Javascript. I have a degree in Computer Science from Cornell University, but most of this web design knowledge comes from my freelance experience. I’ve built many, many websites of varying complexity over years, and I have a solid understanding of what it takes to make a site for the modern web.

I have a BS in Computer Science from Cornell University. I have been programming since in high school and have worked both in the industry and freelance since college. My forte is in web programming, but have experience in other kinds. Languages I have experience with include: Python, Java, Javascript, PHP, Ruby, C/C++, and many more.

I have a Bachelor of Science in Computer Science from Cornell University. I’ve worked as a software developer at Microsoft and UBS, as well as currently being an independent contractor. I have 3 years of tutoring and teaching experience in computer science.

I have a Master of Architecture from Virginia Tech. I’m adept at hand-drafting, CAD systems, and some experience with 3D programs such as Rhino. I’ve built many models out of many different materials and know how to make use of a wood shop, laser cutter, and most other tools needed for the job.

I have been developing on the web, using HTML, CSS, and Javascript since around 2000. I have an in-depth knowledge of Javascript, particularly in conjunction with the jQuery library, that I have used both professionally and for personal projects. I’m familiar with many more Javascript libraries (node, backbone, angular, etc.), and I have an understanding of how to navigate the large of number of libraries and how to apply Javascript on a per-project basis.


Los Angeles Tutor Mike S. has a
rating of 5 out of 5 based on 4 votes.

 

Profile Updated on 09122013_wyz

Subject